Menu
Search
Facebook Feed

Announcements

Welcome to Ribbleton Avenue Methodist Junior School. We hope you enjoy looking around our site. “Brighter futures built with Ambition, Courage and Respect; filled with Love, Hope and Faith”

Reading

Picture 1

Top Tips for Supporting Reading

 

Choose a quiet time

Set aside a quiet time with no distractions. It should be an enjoyable experience.

 

Give them time

Let them make a guess before you tell them the word. If your child does try to 'sound out' words, encourage the use of letter sounds rather than 'alphabet names'.

 

Point with a finger

Encourage them to follow the words with their finger.

 

Be positive

Praise your child for trying hard at their reading. Let them know it’s all right to make mistakes.

 

Don’t make them try too hard!

It doesn’t matter if you have to tell them the word sometimes.

 

Visit the Library

It’s free to join! All libraries have children’s sections. Many also have regular storytelling sessions.

 

Regular practice

Try to read with your child everyday. 'Little and often' is best.

 

Let them read their favourites

It's good practice to read the same books over and over again.

 

Talk about the books

You will then be able to see how well they have understood and you will help them to develop good comprehension skills. Check they understand the story by asking them questions about what happens.

 

After Reading

Talk about the book with your child. It will help your child in their enjoyment and understanding of the book.

• Did you enjoy that book? Why? Why not?

• Who was your favourite character? Why?

• Which part did you like the best? Why?

• Was there any part you didn’t like? Why?

• Would you choose this book/story again?

 

 

What else can your child read?

• Comics

• Magazines

• Travel brochures

• Instructions or recipes

• What’s on television tonight

• Information books

• Manuals

• Newspapers

• Poems

• Taped/CD/Recorded stories

• Sports Reports

• Shopping lists

 

Useful websites for family reading

 

A Story For Bedtime www.astoryforbedtime.com

BBC Parenting website www.bbc.co.uk/parenting

Booktrust www.booktrust.org.uk

The Child Literacy Centre www.childliteracy.com

DfES Parents Centre www.parentscentre.gov.uk

Help them read www.helpthemread.co.uk

Help your child discover ...

www.dfes.gov.uk/parents/discover/

Parent Link www.parentlink.co.uk

Read Together www.readtogether.co.uk

Silly Books www.sillybooks.net

 

E-Books

 

Oxford Owl https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/

(Ask your child's teacher about a login)

Picture 1
Top